GET A QUOTE

It only takes a few minutes to get a QUOTE More »

Choose a Policy

Choose rates from top all the top insurers in one place More »

SAVE!

Which Rate is the Lowest? You could save Hundreds! More »

 

Tag Archives: Florida DUI Insurance

The Consequences for Not Carrying a Required Florida FR44

If the State of Florida has Mandated that you obtain a Florida FR44 Insurance Policy… and you drive without one… what are the consequences?

Under Florida Law, the penalty for driving without proper insurance is punishable with fines between $150 and $500, loss of license and being required to carry FR44 approved insurance for at least three years. In addition to the initial fines, the driver will be responsible for court costs and drivers license reinstatement fees.

While SR22 and FR44 insurance coverage is mandatory in several cases, it is by no means the limit to the coverage that a driver can get. These are simply the bare minimums. Full coverage insurance, including collision and comprehensive components, is still far better than the minimums that SR22 and FR44 impose. Because no two insurance situations are alike, Florida auto insurance agents should be consulted to help determine the best coverage in an individual. Make sure the coverage that is ultimately chosen fits your needs. Don’t take out full coverage on a car that can be replaced with a few thousand dollars. You’ll be able to save that amount in a few years based on the savings in premium differences between PIP/PDL and full coverage. In contrast, don’t get PIP/PDL if you own a new Cadillac that will cost over $30,000 to replace if it is totaled.

Florida FR44 Insurance, Florida DUI Insurance, FL FR44, FR44

Select Insurance Group Specializes in Non-Owner and Owner Florida FR44 Insurance Products. With thousands of policies sold, Select Insurance Group has the resources, experience, and customer support to find you the right product at the lowest price. As Insurance Brokers, we’re not tied to any specific company. Our objective is to find the right insurance product that matches your legal requirements and budget. Select Insurance Group routinely finds Florida FR44 Policies that are thousands of dollars less than competing quotes… simply by shopping the market at the time of purchase. Let Select Insurance Group find you the lowest price today! Call Now or enter your information into our Quoting Engine!

PORTIONS OF THIS ARTICLE RE-POSTED FROM FLORIDAAUTOINSURANCECHEAP.COM/SR22-INSURANCE/ POST

Florida FR44 – What It Is and How to Get One… Cheap

How to Obtain the Lowest Price on a Florida FR44

What Is an FR44?

An FR44 may be necessary when you have a DUI / DWI / OVWI or other alcohol related violation. Similar in theory to an SR22, an FR44 will mandate that you purchase and maintain insurance coverage greater than the State Minimum Requirements. A second reason for this filing, beyond punishing the violator for his or her offense, is that the State doesn’t trust that the driver will purchase and continue to pay for their insurance policy without a “Nanny System” in place. The insurance company reports to the State DMV, on a monthly basis, that the insured is indeed covered with the required policy amounts. If at any point in time your coverage were to lapse, the insurance company immediately reports that lapse, your license is suspended, and unbeknownst to you… you’re no longer legally able to operate a vehicle. The coverage that must be maintained is 100/300/50.

The first question is whether you need an Owner or Non-Owner Policy. You’ll need an Owner Policy if you actually own a vehicle that you plan on driving. In its simplest form, if your automobile needs to be covered on the insurance policy, you need an Owner Policy. Conversely, if you don’t own a car and plan on just driving other automobiles, insured by their respective owners, you can purchase the lesser expensive Non-Owner Policy.

What Information will you Need to get a Quote on an FR44?

The information you’ll need to provide for a solid quote is as follows:

  1. Full Name
  2. Your Gender
  3. Your Physical Mailing Address (P.O. Boxes are Not Allowed)
  4. Phone Number
  5. Birth Date
  6. Relationship Status (Married, Divorced, Single, Widowed)
  7. Driver’s License Number
  8. The State You’re Licensed In
  9. The State You Need the Filing in (You Can Live In One State and Have to File in Another)

10. Whether You Need an Owner or Non-Owner Policy

11. If an Owner Policy is Needed, the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) on that Automobile

12. If You Need a Florida FR44, Your Case Number (or Conviction Number), which is a 9 Digit Number (No Letters, All Numbers). You can call the DMV and Request this Number if you Don’t Know it

Quotes can be run in as little as 5 minutes and a number of different insurance companies can be shopped. Shopping the market ensures you get the best product at the best price. You can immediately purchase your FR44 with a MasterCard, Visa, or Discover Card (in most cases). It is not necessary for you to be the Card Holder; anyone can pay for your policy.

What does a Florida FR44 Cost?

It should be noted that since legislation was passed in 2008, a Florida FR44 MUST be paid for in its entirety at the time of purchase (Unlike its SR22 counterpart, which can be paid for via a monthly payment plan). This is usually the biggest issue with obtaining the insurance since the rates can span from a couple of hundred dollars to a few thousand.

Many factors play into the pricing of the plan; demographics, insurance company rates, age, gender, number and severity of violations, etc. An MVR Report will be mandatory before a quote can be generated. One of the worst things to show up on your record are “At Fault” accidents. Basically, if you’ve cost insurance companies money in the past, you’re going to pay for it… that’s if you can even be covered at all. A seriously bad driving record, one with 2 or more At Fault accidents, can actually cause most insurance companies to decline coverage altogether. However, we have ways of finding alternatives and have only met a few cases we couldn’t get coverage for.

How Does the FR44 Get Filed with the State?

I can’t speak for all Agents or Agencies, but if you obtain your Florida FR44 through us, we file everything for you. We put the paperwork together, make the policy active, notify Tallahassee of your compliance, electronically file your FR44 with the DMV, and email your policy to you within 30 minutes. Additionally, in approximately 5 business days, you’ll receive a “Hard Copy” of your policy from the insurance company.

Even though all of this happens quickly, it will still take anywhere from 24 to 48 hours before you’ll show up in the DMV’s system. Don’t think you can purchase a policy while sitting at the DMV and by the time they call your number, have your information logged into the system. On special occasions, with the right DMV personnel, they can/will process everything with a copy… it’s “Hit and Miss”. Obviously the best thing to do is give yourself at least 2 weeks before you need to have your license reinstated. This will ensure a smooth transaction.

Where Can You Obtain a Florida FR44?

While a number of insurance companies will sell you an FR44, many of them don’t really want to work with the “High Risk” driving market. Therefore, they price their products accordingly. By virtue of being able to offer the insurance, the company has been “cleared” by the State of Florida… so don’t worry about the company itself. However, if you’re going to receive 100/300/50 coverage no matter which company you choose, you may as well find the Lowest Price. Insurance pricing fluctuates throughout the year based upon win/loss ratios, financial stability, etc. so the price you received yesterday may not be the best price today. While it’s smart to request a quote for the future, if for no other reason than to gauge an estimated price for your policy, understand that the rate may change by the time you actually purchase the policy.

We would be happy to shop the market for your Florida FR44. You can call us at 1-855-678-6977 to speak with a licensed insurance agent or you can complete our on-line quoting form at www.MyFloridaFR44.com.

How Do I Get A Cheap Florida FR44?

The Buyer’s Guide to a Cheap Florida FR44

First, What is an Florida FR44?

A Florida FR44 Filing may be required when you have a DUI / DWI / OVWI or other alcohol related violation. An FR44 filing is similar in theory to an SR22, except that it may indicate that you maintain more than the State Minimum Coverage as just the minimum amount of coverage required by the of Florida.

If you need a Florida FR44, you will likely be required to purchase more than just the minimum amount of liability insurance.  Our agents can help you to determine what the requirements for insurance are for your state, based on your situation.

Do you need an Owner Policy or a Non-Owner? We can help you decide, but in general terms an Owner Policy has an automobile attached to it and a Non-Owner Policy doesn’t.

The terms “SR22 insurance” and “FR44 insurance”, much like “DUI Insurance”, are used by the general public, but are not official types of insurance.  Our agency helps with auto insurance for people who have a DUI or DWI on their records, as well as adding an SR22 or FR44 Filing to the insurance policy.  When you contact us, we can help explain in better detail what these terms mean.

What information do I need?

In many situations you may receive a case number.  This is usually a 9 digit number (no letters). Please make sure to provide us with your case number so that we can have the FR44 form issued correctly.  If you have your DUI / DWI conviction date available, that would be helpful as well. 

To obtain an estimate for the price of insurance with an FR44 only takes a few moments.  When you are ready to purchase your insurance, we can provide you with a new temporary ID card and FR44 in the same day. 

Determining the Status of Your Florida Driver’s License

Determine the Status of Your Florida Driver’s License

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and the courts have the ability to suspend or revoke your driver’s license on a variety of grounds.

Sometimes, your driver’s license can be suspended without your knowing it. It’s easy to check the status of your license when you look at your driving record.

Check Your Driving Record

Your driving record report will advise you if your driver’s license is currently valid or whether it’s suspended or revoked. The record will also show points against your license and, in some cases, any accidents you have had.

You can order your driving record in one of three ways: online, in person, or through the mail.

  • Order Driving Record In Person
    1. Complete and notarize a Request for Personal Information if you want your personal information shown on the record.
    2. Be ready to pay the $2.10 or $3.10 fee, depending on whether you want a certified copy and how far back you want to go.
    3. Visit your County Clerk’s office. You may want to call in advance to see which forms of payment are accepted.
  • Order Driving Record By Mail
    1. Write a letter asking for your record or the record of the individual you’re researching. Remember to include your full name, your date of birth, social security number, and Florida driver’s license.
    2. Fill out and notarize the Request for Personal Information if you are ordering your own record and want your personal information visible on it.
    3. Include a check or money order to cover the fee. It’s $2.10 for a one year history, or $3.10 to go back completely or for a certified copy.
    4. If you can wait two weeks for the receipt, mail the application and fee to:
      • Bureau of Records
      • P.O. Box 5775
      • Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775
    5. To request that your record is sent by next-day delivery, send to:
      • Bureau of Records
      • 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 90
      • Tallahassee, FL 32399-0575

Suspended in All States?

If you move and have a suspended license in your old state, you won’t be able to get a new driver’s license in your new state, either. This is because of the National Driver Register (NDR) and the Driver License Compact, both of which tell other states if you’re suspended anywhere in the U.S.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

If you drive on a suspended license, your penalties depend on the circumstances. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. The DHSMV provides a special bulletin you can download that highlights the penalties for driving on a suspended license.

Contact an Attorney

If you’re being charged with a felony for driving on a suspended license, you may want to get advice from an attorney. An experienced attorney may help lower your costs and penalties.

Obtain a Restricted License

Some people may have the option of getting a hardship license so they can drive to and from work. Whether you qualify depends on factors like your offense and how many points you have.

To find out if you qualify, you need to contact your local Administrative Reviews office. To find your office, look under your county’s listing for a heading that reads “Under Suspension – Need Driver License for Work,” and a phone number to call.

If you need more assistance with obtaining a hardship license, seek legal advice.

Reinstate Your License

When you’re allowed to reinstate your license―and the requirements you must fulfill to do so―depends on the reason for your license suspension.

Some of these scenarios may cause your insurance to jump; you may be able to get a lower rate if you shop around.

The process differs slightly from scenario to scenario, and you may want to consult an attorney before you get started. Here are a few examples:

Reinstate for Child Support Delinquency

  1. To get your license back, you must become current on your support and get affidavit Form # DHSMV 73986 from the clerk of the court, child support agency, or depository.
  2. Bring this and a $60 fee in to your County Clerk’s office.
  3. If you received the affidavit before your license got suspended, the fee will be waived. Just show them the date on the affidavit to prove it.

Habitual Traffic Offender

  1. Your license is suspended for five years. After one year, you can ask for a hardship license from the Administrative Reviews office.
  2. You must attend driver improvement. If you got a DUI, you’ll need to go to DUI school.
  3. After five years, you’ll have to request a new license from the Administrative Reviews office (the same place that gave you your hardship license).

Violation Resulting in Death or Personal Injury (Not a DUI)

  1. Your license will be suspended for a year.
  2. You’ll have to take Advanced Driver Training and an exam.
  3. You’ll have to pay $35 to reinstate your license, plus license fees.

Failure to Comply with Traffic Summons or Pay a Fine

  1. You’ll have to pay your fines at a traffic court or online, if your county allows.
  2. Bring your payment proof to a DMV office and pay a $60 fee.

Keep Your Record Clean

There are many ways to get your license suspended. The state has an interactive quiz that tests your knowledge of how your license may be suspended. Try it out.

In the meantime, avoid:

Giving False Information on a License Application

If you give wrong information on your driver’s license application, your license will be suspended. You may request a hearing, but if you’re found to have committed fraud, you’ll have to pay fines and wait for a period before obtaining a new license.

Getting Too Many Points

Getting citations resulting in too many point violations on your record.

  • 12 points in 12 months: 30 day suspension.
  • 18 points in 18 months: Three month suspension.
  • 24 points in 36 months: 12 month suspension.

Refusing to Comply with State Laws

Your license is used as a compliance tool in law enforcement. If you don’t stop for a school bus, are using tobacco if you’re under age 18, or don’t pay your child support, you can have your license suspended.

Refusing a Blood Alcohol Test

Under state law, you must take a blood alcohol test when you’re suspected of driving under the influence. Your license could be suspended even if you’re innocent, if you fail to comply.

Lacking Florida Insurance

You must have current and adequate Florida insurance with $10,000 minimum personal injury protection and $10,000 minimum property coverage to drive. If you don’t, you face a suspended license.

Remember, you must get your insurance from a company licensed in the state.

Ignoring Your Traffic Tickets

If you’ve gotten traffic tickets that you don’t pay, or if you don’t appear in court when you’re supposed to, your driver’s license can get suspended. Your signing the ticket when you receive it means that you’re acknowledging you will take care of the ticket.

Getting a DUI

A DUI results in an automatic suspension. How long the suspension lasts depends on how many times it’s happened. Suspension times vary from 180 days to permanent revocation.

INFORMATION RE-POSTED FROM DMV.ORG

Florida DUI Conviction Information

The Repercussions of a DUI in the State of Florida

If you need another reason to avoid a DUI conviction, consider the fact that a Florida driver’s license suspension for a Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”) conviction will cause your auto insurance rates to increase dramatically for the next five years.

A DUI conviction might also make it more expensive to obtain other forms of insurance, including life insurance, medical and disability insurance. Contact a Tampa DUI Attorney to find out more about the effect a DUI conviction will have on your car insurance rates including the requirement for FR 44 insurance. Find the lowest price on Florida FR44 Insurance here.

Increased Insurance Premiums with FR-44 Insurance

Your Florida auto insurance premiums could increase by 200% to 300% from the amount you paid prior to your DUI arrest. Even worse, your insurance company may cancel or fail to renew your automobile insurance coverage in Florida. If you shop for new automobile insurance after being canceled from your old insurance company, the fact that your auto insurance is canceled will cause an additional increase in insurance premiums.

For many the increase in insurance premiums is so dramatic that maintaining automobile insurance becomes difficult or impossible. Any lapse in insurance will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license under Florida law.

Higher Policy Limits

On February 2, 2008, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (“DHSMV”) introduced the new financial responsibility certification required under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes. The certification is a form called a Florida FR-44 Form and is similar to the SR-22, which was required prior to February 2, 2008. One of the differences between the new FR-44 form and the old SR-22 form is that higher liability limits are now required.

After a DUI conviction in Florida, your license will be suspended by order of the court. In order to reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you will be required to obtain a FR-44 Form which must be maintained for three years. You obtain the FR-44 form from your auto insurance company. As soon as you ask for the FR-44, your auto insurance company will know that your driver’s license has been suspended for a Florida DUI conviction, and your status will be changed to “high risk” causing the increased premiums.

FR44 Insurance in the State of Florida

The Florida 44 Form is a certificate of continuing financial responsibility showing the limits of your automobile liability insurance that must be kept on file with the Florida DHSMV for three years from the ending date of any revocation. The Florida 44 form also requires the insurance company to notify the DHSMV if your insurance policy is canceled, terminated, or lapses for any reason.

You must increase your auto insurance policy to comply with Florida FR44 liability limits, which are 100/300/50. The 100/300/50 limits means that you must have bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 property damage liability coverage. To reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you must usually pay a reinstatement fee of $150 (for a first suspension), $250 (for a second suspension), or $500 (for a third suspension). For quotes on Florida FR44 insurance policies, click here.

Find Out More About Avoiding the Hidden Costs of a DUI Conviction

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (“DUI”) in Hillsborough County, Pinellas County, Polk County or Pasco County, contact an experienced Tampa DUI Attorney to discuss the true costs of a Florida DUI conviction.

The Sammis Law Firm Lawyers handle driving under the influense (“DUI”) cases throughout the Tampa Bay Area, including the cites of Tampa, Pinellas, St. Petersburg, Plant City, New Port Richey, Dade City, and Bartow, Florida. Contact the Sammis Law Firm for a free consultation to discuss your Florida DUI arrest and pending DUI charges in Hillsborough County, Pasco County, Pinellas County, Polk County or the surrounding areas.

INFORMATION OBTAINED FROM CRIMINALDEFENSEATTORNEYTAMPA.COM

Florida FR44 Insurance Now Requires Full Payment

Florida FR44 insurance now requires full payment – Low cost polices still available to smart buyers!

As of May 4th 2012, Florida car insurance policies with Florida FR44 filing may not be cancelled by the insured or company after 30 days. The initial 30 day period is to allow the insurance company to complete its underwriting. After the company determines the risk eligible, according to its rules and guidelines, the non cancellable provision becomes effective. At this time, the company will notify the DMV and the DUI driver can reinstate their license.

From now on, most companies will only offer a paid in full bill plan for such policies. It’s very important to shop around because some companies will still offer a payment plan, although they might be soon to follow. Also, with any of the companies requiring the policy to be paid in full, the coverage on the  policy cannot be changed during the policy period and the premium is non refundable. Any changes to the risk will require a new policy to be purchased and paid in full. If the new policy is from the same company, then they may apply a credit from the old policy to the new one.

This action will ensure that a DUI driver will have continuous Florida FR44 insurance with 100/300/50 liability in effect, for at least 6 months, after they reinstate their license. Having the proper insurance is good for everyone concerned, however, having to pay for it all at once will be unaffordable for some, leaving them without. Their license will remain suspended and any driving they may do invites additional harsh consequences.

With some companies, even drivers who have had a Florida DUI insurance policy continuously in force without any lapse and paid monthly, must pay their renewal in full. The new mandate is very unfair to all these policyholders and many of them will simply be unable to pay. This will cause their license to be suspended and subject to additional reinstatement fees when they are finally able to afford a paid in full policy.

With low loss ratios and cancellations, Florida FR44 insurance policies are profitable for companies and many are competing for this business with sensible rates. The new rule will make the policies even more attractive for insurance companies which will have a price reducing effect for consumers. In the meantime however, it simply means the policyholder will have to “come up with the cash” for a paid in full policy with some companies to keep their license active. Some drivers who are unable to pay will inevitably drive without car insurance, making the mandate counterproductive in this circumstance.

Most people agree that driving while intoxicated is dangerous and should be dealt with aggressively to reduce the number of incidences. I do not believe this aggressive action will have much of an effect at reducing the number of DUI drivers, and may increase the number that drive without insurance. Punishing policyholders who have been compliant by maintaining their insurance and Florida FR44 filing in good standing, and forcing them to pay for their renewal premium in full, seems unjust to me.  I believe “Anyone can easily make this mistake and most learn their lesson the first time.” Targeting repeat offenders and those that do not maintain their required insurance would be a better approach.

Article Information Source (in part): floridafr44.com

Florida FR44 Or Virginia FR44 – Non-Owner and Owner Policies

What Is An FR44?

In some states, such as Virginia and Florida, an FR44 Filing may be required when you have a DUI / DWI / OVWI or other alcohol related violation. An FR44 filing is similar in theory to an SR 22, except that it may indicate that you maintain more than just the minimum amount of coverage required by the state requesting it.

If you need an FR44, you will likely be required to purchase more than just the minimum amount of liability insurance.  Our agents can help you to determine what the requirements for insurance are for your state, based on your situation.  Depending on the sate in which you reside, we will help you to determine which form to use, either the SR22 or FR44.

Cheap Florida FR44 Insurance, Cheap Virginia FR44 Insurance

The terms “SR22 insurance” and “FR44 insurance”, much like “DUI Insurance”, are used by the general public, but are not official types of insurance.  Our agency helps with auto insurance for people who have a DUI or DWI on their records, as well as adding an SR22 or FR44 Filing to the insurance policy.  When you contact us, we can help explain in better detail what these terms mean.

What information do I need?

In many situations you may receive a case number.  This is usually a 9 digit number (no letters). Please make sure to provide us with your case number so that we can have the FR44 form issued correctly.  If you have your DUI / DWI conviction date available, that would be helpful as well.

To obtain an estimate for the price of insurance with an FR44 only takes a few moments.  When you are ready to purchase your insurance, we can provide you with a new temporary ID card and FR44 in the same day.

How can www.SR22Coverage.com help me?

We shop a variety on insurance carriers in over 39 states to help you compare the rates and coverage options so that you can choose the price and amount of coverage that works for you.  Immediate quotes are available for SR22’s or FR44’s.  Our licensed insurance professionals work hard to understand your needs and to be here for you.

Partial Article Information Obtained From: http://www.stratumins.com/dui/what_is_an_fr44.htm

FR44 and SR22 Insurance for Florida & Virginia Residents

FR44 & Insurance in Florida and Virginia.

In some  states, such as Virginia and Florida, an FR-44 Filing may be required when you have a DUI / DWI / OVWI or other alcohol related violation. An FR44  filing is similar in theory to an SR 22, except that it may indicate that you  maintain more than just the minimum amount of coverage required by the state  requesting it.If you need an FR44, you will  likely be required to purchase more than just the minimum amount of liability  insurance.  Our agents can help you to determine what the requirements for  insurance are for your state, based on your situation.  Depending on the sate in  which you reside, we will help you to determine which form to use, either the

SR22 or FR44

The terms “sr22 insurance” and “fr44 insurance“,  much like “dui insurance“, are used by the general public, but are not official  types of insurance.  Our agency helps with auto insurance for people who have a  DUI or DWI on their records, as well as adding an SR22 or FR44 Filing to the  insurance policy.  When you contact us, we can help explain in better detail  what these terms mean.
What information do I need?
In many situations you may receive a case number.   Please make sure to provide us with your case number so that we can have the  FR44 form issued correctly.  If you have your DUI / DWI conviction date  available, that would be helpful as well.
To obtain an estimate for the price of insurance  with an FR44 only takes a few moments.  When you are ready to purchase your  insurance, we can often provide you with a new temporary ID card and FR44 in the  same day.
How can Select Insurance Group help me with  my auto insurance?
We shop a variety on insurance carriers in over 42 states to help you compare the rates and coverage options so that you can choose  the price and amount of coverage that works for you.  Same day quotes are  available for auto insurance, even if you need an SR22 or FR44.  Our friendly  team works hard to understand your needs and to be here for you.
The auto insurance carriers with whom we work  can help drivers with:

 

  • DUIs & DWIs
  • SR22 filings –  same day available in most situations
  • FR44 filings –  same day available in most situations
  • Multiple point
  • Suspended Licenses
  • Foreign Drivers Licenses
  • And other tricky situations…

Florida DUI, SR22 & FR44 Insurance

Florida DUI Laws & Penalties

 

 

Florida DUI law is probably tougher than DUI law in most other states. Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.

 

 

When you first get arrested for a DUI in Florida you probably sat in jail waiting to be released wondering why in the world they were keeping you so long? Well, here’s the specific criteria that must be met for the police to release someone after being arrested for a DUI offense in Florida:

 

  • The person is no longer under the influence and;
  • The person’s normal faculties are no longer impaired
  • The person’s blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or
  • Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

 

Here’s a brief overview of what you can expect if convicted of a DUI offense in Florida. The specific 1st offense DUI statute in Florida is 316.193 (3), F.S. and this is what it carries:

 

 

Florida DUI Fines

 

First DUI Conviction: Not less than $250, or more than $500. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000.

 

Second DUI Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.Third Conviction More than 10 years: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,500. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000.

 

Third DUI Conviction Within 10 years: Not more than $5,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle. Not less than $2,000.

 

Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction: Not less than $1,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle. Not less than $2,000.

 

 

 

Florida DUI Penalties

 

For 316.193 (3) F.S. you’ll have these requirements:

 

 

Florida First Offense DUI Penalties

 

  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $500 to $1,000
  • Probation (not to exceed 1 year)
  • Jail time not more than 6 months
  • Jail time not more than 9 months (BAC .20% or greater)
  • License revocation for 180 days (max 1 year). Must complete an approved Florida DUI school prior to being issued a restricted license during the suspension period.
  • Ignition interlock system required for first time offenders with a BAC level of .15% or greater. An ignition interlock device is also required for individuals who were arrested for DUI with a child in the car. Ignition interlock device must be installed for 6 months for first time offenders

 

Florida Second Offense DUI Penalties

 

  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000
  • Jail time not more than 9 months
  • Jail time not more than 12 months (BAC .20% or greater) or passenger under 18 years of age in vehicle
  • Mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days (48 hours must be consecutive)
  • License revocation for 5 years, may be eligible for hardship license after 1 year.
  • Ignition interlock system mandatory for 2 years minimum
  • DUI school must be completed following suspension period.

 

Florida Third Offense DUI Penalties

 

  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,500
  • Mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days up to 12 months. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.
  • Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship license after 2 years.
  • Ignition interlock system mandatory
  • Completion of mandatory DUI treatment course

 

 

Florida Fourth or Subsequent DUI Offense Penalties

 

  • 3rd degree felony charge
  • Classification as habitual /violent offender.
  • Mandatory permanent drivers license revocation. No hardship eligibilities.
  • Fines of $1,000 to $5,000
  • Imprisonment not exceeding 5 years for life felony (habitual not exceeding 10 years)

 

 

Florida BAC Presumptions

 

  • BAC levels of .001% to .05% is presumed not to be under the influence
  • BAC levels of .051% to .079% is presumed not to be under the influence, but is admissible in court
  • BAC levels of .08% or greater are presumed to be under the influence

 

 

Florida Implied Consent Laws

 

  • Chemical testing is allowed. Breath test for alcohol and urine test for drugs. Blood test if an accident involves serious personal injury or death
  • Officer is required to advise the defendant of the penalties for test refusal
  • Test results of .08% or greater result in 6 month license suspension
  • Test refusal results in a 1 year to 18 month license suspension, which is admissible in criminal proceedings.

 

 

Chemical Testing

 

  • Chemical tests are presumed valid if the officer certifies substantial compliance with the laws and regulations of the Department of Law Enforcement
  • Blood test: Blood draws for police testing must be administered by a physician, nurse or other qualified person
  • Independent chemical testing by a qualified person is allowed. Defendant is responsible for all costs incurred with test
  • Test results must be made available to the defendant and the defendant’s Florida DUI lawyer, upon request

 

 

No matter if you are a first time offender or a repeat offender, your Florida DUI will carry serious consequences for your insurance premiums. You will either find that you are dropped by your insurance provider, or you will find that your premium cost skyrockets. This can even affect your family members that are on your insurance policy.

 

 

Florida DUI First Offense

 

 

The consequences of a first offense DUI arrest in Florida can be severe and follow a person for a long time if not dealt with swiftly by a skilled Florida DUI defense lawyer. When a person is arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida they will be facing two separate cases: the criminal charge of driving under the influence, which will be handled through to Florida court system and the administrative side, i.e. the drivers license, which will be dealt with through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or (FLHSMV).

 

 

Florida Administrative Drivers License Hearing

 

In the state of Florida when arrested for a first offense DUI charge the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue the driver what is referred to as a “Notice of Suspension”. This notice will act as the driver’s license for the next 10 days.

 

Important: A person who has been arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida only has 10 days from the date of arrest in which to request a hearing with the FLHSMV if they wish to avoid having their driving privileges automatically suspended for the next 6 months. If you hope to have a successful outcome at your hearing it is very important that you contact one of Florida DUI lawyers today to have our lawyers schedule your hearing and represent you at the hearing.

 

At the administrative license hearing the administrative hearing officer who has been assigned to hear your case will look at the evidence against you from the arresting officer including: BAC level at the time, field sobriety test results (if you submitted to them), and whether or not you submitted to a chemical test or refuse the chemical test.

 

The hearing officer will also hear testimony against you from the arresting officer and hear testimony in your favor from your lawyer, yourself, and any witnesses your lawyer has subpoenaed to appear at the hearing.

 

 

Florida DUI First Offense Penalties

 

Fines

 

A person convicted of a first offense DUI in court will face a fine amount of $500 to $1,000 for a blood/breath alcohol level of less than .15%. If the person’s BAL was above .15% or there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of driving under the influence the fine amount shall be not less than $1,000, and not more than $2,000.

 

Jail Time

 

A first offense DUI in Florida will result in a jail sentence of no more than 6 months in jail for a BAL of less than .15%. A BAL of .15% or greater, or with a minor in the vehicle at the time of driving will result in a jail sentence of up to 9 months.

 

Drivers License Suspension

 

A first offense DUI will result in the driver’s license being suspended for a minimum period of 180 days (if the driver was unsuccessful at winning their administrative drivers license hearing). If another person was killed or seriously injured as a result of the defendant’s DUI, their license will be revoked for 3-years with no chance of receiving a restricted license during the revocation period.

 

Before the FLHSMV will issue a restricted license during the suspension period the person must successfully complete the required DUI schooling. If the person waits out their suspension period they will be required to at minimum show proof of enrollment in a state approved DUI school prior to having their license fully reinstated. The driver must complete the DUI schooling within 90 days of having their license reinstated; otherwise their license will be cancelled and will not be reinstated until the person completes the required DUI School.

 

Ignition Interlock

 

For anyone arrested on a first offense DUI in Florida with a BAL of .15% or greater or a minor in the vehicle at the time, an ignition interlock device must be installed in their vehicle prior to being issued a restricted license or before full reinstatement of their license following the suspension period. The ignition interlock must remain in place for at least 6 months, possibly longer if deemed necessary.

 

DUI School

 

If you wish to obtain a hardship license during your suspension period you will need to complete an approved Florida DUI school prior to the DMV issuing you a hardship license. If you decide to wait out the suspension period, you will only need to show the DMV proof of enrollment in an approved DUI school prior to them reinstating your license following the suspension period.

 

Community Service

 

First time DUI offenders in Florida will also face a mandatory 50 hours of community service. If the person feels that are not able to perform community service they may be given the option of paying an additional fine in the amount of $10 for each hour of required community service, or $500 in additional fines.

 

Chemical Test Refusal

 

A first offense DUI chemical test refusal in Florida will result in a suspension period of 1-year with no chance of receiving a restricted license during the suspension period.

 

 

Florida SR22 Insurance Information & Quotes

 

Once your suspension is over or you have been approved for a hardship or restricted license the FLHSMV will require you to file either an SR22 or FR44 insurance form with them. The only difference between an SR22 and an FR44 is the amount of liability coverage. An FR44 has twice the liability limits as an SR22 policy does.

 

You will be required to keep your SR22 or FR44 insurance filing with the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles for a period of 3-years from the date of being issued a hardship or restricted license or the full reinstatement of your license. If at any time during this 3-year filing period if there is a lapse in your insurance coverage your insurer is obligated by law to inform the FLHSMV of such a lapse.

 

If this happens the FLHSMV will send you a letter informing you that your driver’s license has been suspended and that you will have to pay another license reinstatement fee along with filing an SR22 form with them before they will issue you another license.

 

Once you become eligible for a hardship license or to have your license reinstated following your suspension period you will need to do the following:

 

1.    Signup for a Florida SR22/FR44 insurance policy.

 

2.    Take a copy of your SR22/FR44 policy to one of Florida’s DMV office locations.

 

3.    Pay the necessary reinstatement fees.

 

It is important that you avoid any lapse in your SR22/FR44 insurance coverage because a lapse in coverage will result in the mandatory 3-year SR22 or FR44 filing period with the FLHSMV starting all over again. For example, if you were 2-years into your SR22 filing period and had a lapse in insurance coverage, you would have to start the 3-year filing period from the beginning.

 

To avoid a lapse in coverage it is important to select a Florida SR22 or FR44 insurance policy with the lowest possible premium from the start. We have created a competitive quoting environment with the top SR22/FR44 insurance providers in the state of Florida. Byclicking here you will receive  competitive SR22/FR44 insurance quotes from the top insurance companies in your state:

 

 

Florida FR44 Insurance Information

 

If a driver in Florida is convicted of an alcohol related offense (e.g., DUI) after October 1, 2007, he or she will need to file an FR44 form with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This means that he or she will need to purchase Florida FR44 insurance.

 

 

Florida FR44 insurance is a high-risk liability insurance that establishes an agreement between an insurance company and the DMV. An insurance company files an FR44 form with the DMV, which ensures the DMV that a high risk driver is in fact insured. If that high-risk driver becomes uninsured for any reason, the insurance company files an FR46 form with the DMV, which alerts the DMV that this high-risk driver is no longer covered by a liability policy.

 

FR44 insurance provides liability insurance in the following amounts:

 

$100,000 for injury or death to one person in one accident

 

  • $300,000 for injury or death to more than one person in one accident
  • $50,000 for damage to property in one accident

 

How to Get Florida FR44 Insurance

 

Finding Florida FR44 insurance doesn’t have to be a long and complicated process. We have partnered with the top insurance companies in Florida to make this as quick and easy as possible for you. To begin the process, simply enter your Florida zip code here:

 

 

How to Get Your Florida Driver’s License Reinstated after a DUI

 

To reinstate your Florida driver’s license after a first offense DUI:

 

  • Complete DUI School (and treatment if ordered)
  • Pay Administrative Fee of $130
  • Pay Revocation Reinstatement Fee of $75
  • Pay License Fee of $48
  • Buy FR44 Insurance

 

To reinstate your Florida driver’s license after a subsequent DUI, do all of the above, and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. (This will cost about $182 plus a $67.50 monthly fee.)

 

 

Florida Hardship Driver’s License

 

All hardship license applicants must fulfill all the reinstatement requirements, including FR44 insurance.

 

First time DUI offenders may apply for a hardship license in the county in which they live.

 

If this is your second offense within 5 years, you may apply for a hardship license after serving one year of revocation. If this is your third offense within 10 years of a second offense, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 2 years of your revocation. If this is your fourth or subsequent offense, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 10 years of your revocation.

 

In order to apply for a hardship permit, a subsequent offender must receive a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program and must remain in the Special Supervision Services Program for the remainder of his or her revocation period.

 

 

Florida Ignition Interlock Law

 

If this is your first offense DUI, you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If this is your first offense DUI, and you had a BAC of 0.15 or higher, you will be ordered to keep an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for at least 6 months.
Subsequent DUI offenders are also required to install IIDs in their vehicles, for the following periods of time:

 

 

2nd offense – at least 1 year 2nd offense w/ BAC of 0.15 or higher – at least 2 years 3rd offense – at least 2 years 4th or subsequent offense – at least 5 years

 

For More Information:

 

For more information about driver’s license reinstatement or Florida FR44 insurance, call the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at 850-617-2000.